Septemberfest Sweets

3 Sep

Desserts are back in my life, just in time to do some final prepping for Labor Day weekend! I posted about my Snickerdoodle Blondies, which I finally tasted when I cut them up tonight. I love how thick they are, but I wish I’d added some chocolate chips in them, or perhaps if I had the ingredients to make the glaze that goes with. Either way I’m sure they’ll be a good after-fest snack or breakfast this weekend.

I also decided to doctor up a brownie mix with Bailey’s Irish Cream. I picked up a Duncan Hines Milk Chocolate brownie box a few weeks ago and thought I’d see what happened if I subbed 1/4 cup Bailey’s for the 1/4 cup water. I’m pretty sure (unless it was a malfunctioning box) that the cream weighed them down a bit. The batter was pretty sticky and the brownies didn’t seem to rise. They taste pretty good (as did the batter) but I think I may have overcooked them since they weren’t quite as fluffy as boxed brownies usually are.

I also made my famous Jell-O jiggler shots today, including a few Jiggler hats for my dad’s Septemberfest accessory. I mixed and matched strawberry, raspberry and orange jell-o’s with Smirnoff Cosmopolitan, Vodka & Bacardi O. The extra scraps were pretty yummy, I hope they last all weekend, though I know they won’t. I have the ingredients for one more batch in the cabinet.

Finally I wanted to tackle breakfast for the weekend by making my dad a pancake mix. I titled it, “Mr. A’s Septemberfest Pancake Mix,” and based it off a recipe I found at the Food Network website, I changed it up though, swapping some of the all-purpose flour for cake and whole wheat flour and also mixing in both brown and granulated sugars. He laughed when I handed him the recipe and the “mix” so I hope he will actually use it! He loves to make pancakes for any guests we have over the holiday weekend, and I’m not a fan of boxed pancakes, so this is our compromise, I hope they’re fantastically fluffy!

Well that’s all I have on the menu for now, well including the rest of my frozen fudge, but there’s always a possibility for more with me! Enjoy the weekend!

3 Responses to “Septemberfest Sweets”

  1. Shannon Zimmerman July 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Snickerdoodles are my favorite, despite crumb cakes being my business =) Enjoy your blog, lots Michelle.
    – Shannon, Crumb Cake Creations, LLC

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Forgotten Sweets | Sweet Talk - February 27, 2013

    […] his favorite flavor combination. I’m not 100% sure but I believe these are my famous Bailey’s brownies with added dark chocolate and mint […]

Leave a comment