cinna-mini marathon

24 Aug

In case you don’t know, I gave up desserts for two weeks. I know it’s not a huge deal, but it did force a mini baking marathon upon me Sunday night. Not just so I could have a few sweet bites before my dessert detox, but because I had some occasions I couldn’t let myself miss.

I just realized I never posted my fudge info, but I think that would be a better thing to write about tomorrow!! Either way, there’s quite a bit of fudge in my freezer for Septemberfest, so I thought I’d fill the rest of the freezer drawer with desserts for Labor Day weekend. I’m not sure why all of my Sunday desserts were cinnamon-filled, but it definitely led to a Christmas in August feeling, to quote my dad, “this is the best smell ever.”

I choose to make Snickerdoodle Blondies from a great blog, Recipegirl.com. I made a few changes, as always, and subbed half Crisco for butter (because I ran out) and also added chocolate chips – both semi-sweet and 60% cacao – because i like chocolate in my desserts!  I have yet to glaze them because I thought it would be best to wait ’til they’re defrosted and almost ready to eat for that. I figured these bars would be a good complement to the fudge, and I know my brother, Tommy likes things that taste like Life cereal and I have a feeling the cinnamon-sugar sprinkled on top may have that taste-sensation for him.

Next up on the cinnamon-fest was cinnamon pecan biscotti. This is for my grandpa’s birthday, he’s turning 80 on Friday! My grandparents live in Arkansas, but since my mom and her siblings are making a weekend trip to celebrate, I figured I HAD to send something along with her. My grandpa is one of my biggest fans (at least in the dessert world 🙂 and he is a huge pecan lover, and loves biscotti with his coffee (or anytime of day… he’s 100% Italian so it’s a given). I found this recipe and felt like the cinnamon would be a good twist to traditional biscotti, plus since my mom has to fly to Little Rock and then drive a bit to Hot Springs Village, there’s no fear that these guys will get stale – biscotti is dried out due to the double-baking, so I know they’ll survive. I didn’t necessarily chose this recipe because it is “healthier,” but that’s a nice twist, also I probably need to use whole wheat flour more often.

Finally I whipped up my trusty Oatberries because Friday is also my manager’s birthday and he really likes them. This batch turned out a little different from my usual. I did have to sub for about 1/8 cup of oats (I used them in the biscotti) so I thought I’d put in a little extra flour and then some graham cracker crumbs for texture, and according to my parents they still tasted delicious. I also thought I’d sprinkle cinnamon on top of half of them before hitting the oven, just for fun, but none of that resulted in the difference. The issue here was that my newest bag of frozen blueberries happened to be a bit tinier than whatever kind I’m used to and therefore they broke a little from my KitchenAid… and these cookies are pretty much blue.

Immediately after I added the blueberries, I thought maybe I should have gently folded them instead of letting the mixer do the work. I actually usually make these guys with a hand mixer, so I suppose that could be part of the problem, but either way we’re talking very blue cookies. I’m sure they taste fine (and Sunday I tried one, so I actually am sure) but they make me laugh. They should be called oatblue-ies.

6 Responses to “cinna-mini marathon”

  1. leashieloo August 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Not a big deal!? I salute you for avoiding dessert like that, I can’t live without it! I used to be totally insane though, now I’ve gotten to the point where fruit is enough sugar to sustain the urge. If I were you, I would have dived headfirst into those blondies, which look scrumptious by the way!

  2. michellerose14 August 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    thanks! and I’m sure once my 10 more days cease, those blondies will be in my tummy! 🙂

  3. Grandma and Grandpa August 30, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    It was very nice of you to send the Biscotti and we all enjoyed them. This was a very special Birthday for Grandpa and your cookies made it even better. They were delicious !

  4. Grandma and Grandpa August 30, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    The Biscotti were delicious, they made Grandpa’s Birthday even better !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday, Grandpa!! « i know you didn't ask… - August 28, 2010

    […] 80 birthdays is quite an accomplishment, my grandpa is pretty cool Leave a comment Yesterday, My grandpa turned 80! That is such a cool thing to say, he’s had 80 years of life that he shares with his five […]

  2. Septemberfest Sweets « Nilla Rose Desserts - September 3, 2010

    […] back in my life, just in time to do some final prepping for Labor Day weekend! I posted about my Snickerdoodle Blondies, which I finally tasted when I cut them up tonight. I love how thick they are, but I wish I’d […]

Leave a Reply

