Don’t forget to watch me :)

26 Aug

I think it’s finally time to post my fudge pictures! So in case you haven’t heard, I made fudge two weeks ago for my Daily Herald escapade! My mom nominated me for the “Cook of the Week” feature in the Food section of  the Daily Herald. At first I felt a little silly, like why should I be the cook of the week? But then I realized that the paper needs 52 different people for this feature every year, so why not me?

The process began with a 45 minutes phone interview about three weeks ago. Laura, the interviewer, asked me a bunch of questions about my baking history, favorite recipes and just general info. It was fun to be on this side of an interview again. Then we scheduled the online video portion for the following week and decided I would be making fudge for the segment.

So fast forward to the shoot, where I had to prepare fudge in advance and then again on camera. My recipe change-up for this one was adding chocolate milk into the mix. I really don’t know if it made a difference, but anything to add more chocolate to something sounds good to me! You can check out the article and the recipe on theDaily Herald site. This was honestly one of the most fun things I’ve done in my life, and it was seriously delicious! The batch of fudge I made in the video clip was the creamiest ever, I think it might be because I didn’t rush anything in the process. I hope you enjoy the pictures, video and article – and if you’re anywhere in Schaumburg, stop by and get some fudge out of my house… please!

7 Responses to “Don’t forget to watch me :)”

  1. dad August 26, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I was impressed

  2. michellerose14 August 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    thanks, dad

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2 minutes is a long time to wait to spit « i know you didn't ask… - September 1, 2010

    […] my teeth with my eyes closed, my life should be called Leave a comment The night that I shot my fudge video, I bought a $95 toothbrush on Amazon. I know, that sounds super nuts. Well if you’ve been […]

  2. Septemberfest Sweets « Nilla Rose Desserts - September 3, 2010

    […] that’s all I have on the menu for now, well including the rest of my frozen fudge, but there’s always a possibility for more with me! Enjoy the […]

  3. my favorite favorites « Nilla Rose Desserts - October 3, 2010

    […] my nephew’s birthday joint party with my new nephew’s christening, with a request for sea salt fudge from my sister-in-law. Enjoy. I […]

  4. The Fudges « Sweet Talk - January 8, 2012

    […] If I could only make one dessert for Christmas — which my mom might be happy about, but will never happen — it would be our traditional fudge. I love experimenting with flavors and finding new recipes all over the internet and in cookbooks, but this fudge is not something you mess with or substitute. My mom made this every year for the holidays until I took over and put it at the top of the list. It’s super easy and even more super delicious. I’ve even won contests with it at a 4th of July fest, and made my first ever recipe video through the local newspaper when I was “Cook of the Week.” […]

  5. Forgotten Sweets | Sweet Talk - February 27, 2013

    […] Fudge. This is actually another recipe my mom made every year for christmas and I make at least 5… ok 10 times a year. If you’re reading this, you’ve probably had it and you love it too. […]

Leave a Reply

