Two completely different brownie cupcakes

28 Mar

It’s a tease that my mom asked for brownie cupcakes for her little get-together last Friday. One week until I can bring chocolate back into my life and I’m mixing brownie batter, which definitely scores in my top five favorite batters. I have no idea how these two cute cuppies tasted, but reviews were great on both accounts.

So this pictures isn’t all that appetizing. All Bran… fat-free brownie mix… water… and baking soda, not quite the tempting combo I’m used to in my kitchen, but my mom asked for me to test out this One Point Chocolate Muffin recipe and of course I was going to make it for her. The really interesting part about this recipe is that you mix the cereal and water together and let it sit for 15 minutes and it turns into the “glue” of the recipe. She said they were good, but I wasn’t able to taste the batter of the final product, so I’m not quite sure. She served it with Cool Whip & strawberries. I do like the idea of stretching a box of brownies though, this recipe made 30 instead of the 20 or so you get out of the box alone. Either way, super cute little guys

So from All Bran brownies, we move to super delicious frosted & sprinkled brownies. One of my best friends, Amy, turned 23 last week and was having a party last night in Wisconsin. I honestly thought I had no chance of getting the night off of work, so I was pretty sure I wouldn’t make it. However, I have been having a super lucky week and that included having Saturday and Sunday off of work. Instead of telling Amy that Elizabeth and I were coming for a visit we decided to surprise her, and it worked perfectly! And what’s a birthday surprise without Jell-O shots & dessert? So I made my famous Jell-O jiggler shots and brownie cupcakes with my favorite vanilla buttercream and multi-colored Sprinkles.

My Jell-O shots are great because they are mess-free and delicious, I always make them a little differently, but take the basic technique from the Jell-O Lounge. They’re wonderful.

As for the cupcakes, I doctor-up a boxed brownie mix, added some sprinkles in the batter and scooped them into cupcakes liners, which Elizabeth suggests I should spray with nonstick next time. Maybe next time I will forgo the liners all together. Then I decided to pipe some frosting into each little brownie, then frost.

I finished them off with my go-to vanilla buttercream recipe and thought it would be fun to break out my Wilton sanding sugars to decorate. Making brownies as cupcakes is great because there’s no need for cutting them and risking undercooking the middles or overcooking the edges, and it’s also fun for people to be a little surprised when they take a bite and realize they’re getting fudgy brownie goodness.

It was a fantastic surprise and an excellent end to my lucky week, I hope the luck continues!

3 Responses to “Two completely different brownie cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. purple pony cake « Nilla Rose Desserts - June 2, 2010

    […] you’ve read before, I always use boxed brownies, so this was no different. However, I mixed flavors and brands for my giant square pan – […]

  2. 1 down, 11 to go « i know you didn't ask… - August 23, 2010

    […] weekend of the year!! Filled with yummy ice cream vendors, melting pot chocolate fondue and Jell-O jiggler shots (technically desserts). So that will be my […]

  3. Septemberfest Sweets « Nilla Rose Desserts - September 3, 2010

    […] did the batter) but I think I may have overcooked them since they weren’t quite as fluffy as boxed brownies usually […]

Leave a Reply

