Salty Sweet

7 Aug

There are some people out there who are just super nice, great people, and they deserve cookies on their birthday. One of those people is a hostess at the restaurant I work at and she turned 21 last week, a perfect occasion for me to try out a new cookie recipe.

As with most of my recipes, I found this one online, probably via twitter and decided it was going on my list of things to make. Basically I bookmark any recipe I’m interested in making, so then whenever the baking urge hits I have something ready to make.

This recipe sounded fantastic, and it was a great excuse to buy a delicious bag of pretzel M&Ms. If you haven’t tried them yet, I encourage you to go grab some. They’re fantastic.

The pretzel consistency is a fun addition to the basic M&M we’ve loved all these years and what a great idea to add these to chocolate chip cookie. M&M cookies are delish, and pretzel ones are even better. In addition to the yummy add-ins, this recipe called for sea salt on the cookie dough right before baking. You wouldn’t believe how much of an amazing difference this makes. The light dust of salt combined with the buttery cookies made for an addictive cookie. I literally couldn’t stop eating them right out of the oven and made myself eat a pear to get the craving out of my mouth. As expected, these cookies got rave reviews from friends, families, co-workers and the birthday girl. And I’m excited to see what else I can add sea salt to in the future.

4 Responses to “Salty Sweet”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. H…a…double l, o, w, double e-n spells Halloween! « Nilla Rose Desserts - October 28, 2010

    […] I mixed up some Butterfinger cookies. The M&M cookies I made a few months ago were a GIANT success so I decided to use that cookie base recipe and add […]

  2. One last trick or treat « Sweet Talk - November 18, 2011

    […] cookies came from my absolutely favorite, pretzel m&m cookie recipe, of all the cookies in existence, these really shine. Sweet, salty, crunchy, ahh, I’m […]

  3. “You Made Me Dirt Cake??” « Sweet Talk - July 18, 2012

    […] Since dirt cake is a dessert you have to serve, I wanted to make something else for dessert snacking, and went to one of my go-to cookies, Pretzel M&M and Sea Salt. […]

  4. Forgotten Sweets | Sweet Talk - February 27, 2013

    […] made these because I really like Pretzel M&Ms. I didn’t like them as much as my drop cookie recipe, but you live, you eat and you […]

Leave a comment