Delicious Declarations

1 Jan

Thank you, Food Buzz, for helping me host an amazing New Year’s Eve brunch!

I am so excited to tell you all about my fun party. It all started at the beginning of December when I received an email from Food Buzz, with the prompt – How will you spend the last day of 2011? The prompt was for their monthly program, 24×24, which calls for submissions to answer the prompt. They then pick their favorite 24 proposals and grant them a stipend to hold their party, as long as it takes place on the designated day, therefore there are 24 meals around the country in 24 hours, hence the 24×24.

This was my proposal submission:

This will be a celebration and preparation for the new year. I will have each brunch attendee bring a dish that represents their new years resolution, whether that means get healthier, learn to make muffins, travel the world, get a new job, whatever it is the dish will represent it. Every one will share their story on my webcam so that I can turn it into a video that we can save for the next year to see if the resolutions came true. This is a positive experience, no negativity allowed. The location will be my parents house in Schaumburg and we will decorate with sparkly decos and other happy exciting elements. I will be inviting all of my close friends and family. We will, of course, have champagne and toast to the resolutions.

This is unique because the food is representing the future and the individual goal. It’s a new twist on an old standby. I’m picking brunch because it’s such a communal event, with a relaxed environment but also has a celebration flair. Plus, this will accommodate everyone who may have other plans for the evening. Even children can participate in the events. Like I mentioned above, each attendee will shoot a video of their dish and their resolution, I will then post those on my blog along with pictures and a summarization of the event – I can’t wait!

I was really excited then and I’m even more excited that it was a success. Everyone participated, celebrated and asked if this could become an annual tradition – absolutely! I hope you all had sweet celebrations and enjoy our resolutions!

5 Responses to “Delicious Declarations”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My left bicep is making it hard to eat oatmeal « i know you didn't ask… - January 4, 2012

    […] I work out I feel like Elle Woods. Bubbly, smart and ambitious. Which is great because that’s what I’m going for this year – not exactly that specific, but my two new year’s resolutions are to get out of my comfort […]

  2. Did you know, « i know you didn't ask… - January 7, 2012

    […] is most likely because I forced them all to come up with them, turn them into a food dish and go on video announcing their plans for 2012, but because of this I feel compelled to keep tabs on all of […]

  3. Touchdown! « Sweet Talk - February 9, 2012

    […] yogurt inspired dip. You see, I’m trying 2 things here, 1) to break out of my comfort zone (new year’s reso!) and 2) to find some suitable non-dessert snacks for lent (less than 2 weeks […]

  4. Pancake Buffet « Sweet Talk - February 26, 2012

    […] know I got to be a part of their amazing 24×24 program on New Year’s Eve, which may have been one of my best parties to date, and I got to participate again – this […]

  5. Delicious Declarations 2013 « Sweet Talk - January 14, 2013

    […] year i decided to repeat the resolution brunch I hosted last year, with many of the same people in attendance. Our party was again successful, as I […]

Leave a comment