Pancake Buffet

26 Feb

I’ve been wanting to celebrate food holidays for a while now and excitedly got the chance to have a food holiday party this Saturday thanks to Food Buzz!

You know I got to be a part of their amazing 24×24 program on New Year’s Eve, which may have been one of my best parties to date, and I got to participate again – this time with a pancake buffet!

Food Buzz picks the day and submit the proposal, so for me, I used this opportunity to google what February 25th means in the food world – and it’s the end of National Pancake Week!!

So to celebrate a bunch of my friends came over and we had the ultimate pancake buffet – complete with multiple flavors and mimosas, of course.

At a regular brunch buffet, you get your mix of entrees, but do you ever get your choice of pancake mix-ins and toppings? That was the goal with my party. I wanted to make every guests pancake dreams come true – success.

First I set up the buffet with an assortment of fruits, syrup, whipped cream, pecans, powdered sugar, cinnamon and for the sweet tooth, chocolate chips.

While we mixed up our mimosas,

I baked up an apple dutch pancake. It was my first attempt of a baked pancake, and in the future I might bake the cake at a lower temp because I burned the top a bit and felt as if the middle was a little soft, but it was still a great mix of apple slices and fluffy dough. Yum! I’m sure my dad would like that the next time I’m home.

Next I whisked together the wet and dry ingredients of a basic pancake recipe. You know I’m only a fan of boxes when they contain brownie mix, so pancakes had to come from scratch as well – and they were cute and perfect. I decided to make little guys because, well because my cookie scoop was the perfect size!

My guests then picked from my topper buffet and dressed up their baby cakes!

Everyone loved that they could customize their plates and mix and match – especially with both salty and sweet options!

I’m so excited that I got to have this party and send a huge thanks to Food Buzz – hope to participate again soon!

PS – thanks to Jenn for the awesome PJ flair!

Ohh – and Jordan for making sausage patties to add to the table!

HAPPY NATIONAL PANCAKE WEEK!

5 Responses to “Pancake Buffet”

  1. Justine Lorelle February 27, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    This is such a cute idea! I just may steal it the next time we have overnight company 😉

    • Michelle February 27, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      Yay! I thought it was super cute too – definitely a fun activity 🙂

  2. Annie Oakley's Kitchen February 28, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    That looked like so much fun! Breakfast is my favorite meal and I am known to make some pancakes at 8 in the evening when I get home from work.
    Congrats on the 24 x 24, you did a great job!

    • Michelle March 3, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks so much! It was fun – I can’t wait to have another opportunity!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Mixer Required « Sweet Talk - May 3, 2012

    […] yeah, I made these on National Oatmeal Cookie Day too! I love participating in food holidays! Tell Your Friends!TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

