Baby Apple Pies – Thanksgiving Part 1

27 Nov

I hope you’ve all recovered from a week full of delicious side dishes, succulent turkey, hearty helpings, lots of shopping and time spent with loved ones. I’ve had a busy Thanksgiving but it was all pretty great.

For dessert, I wanted to make two equally yummy but very different desserts. The first one I tackled was a bit foreign to me, pies. Now, you might think, Michelle, you are the epitome of Sweet Talk, how are you foreign to pies? And I would say, I think they’re slightly boring. Ok, I lied, they’re really intimidating. I think I’ve made less than 10 pies in my life and most are impromptu fillings to pre-made graham cracker or Oreo crusts. They’re yum-tastic, but not very difficult.

This time I wanted a challenge. I didn’t go completely from scratch though, I started my pies with a crust mix I’d received as a gift, I food processed that with some butter and ice water and ta-dah, had my crust. After that I made a filling, Paula Deen’s recipe, with apples, brown sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon and flour. I omitted nutmeg, cuz I hate it. And the rest was a completely cute, delicious success. Check it out!


Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Responses to “Baby Apple Pies – Thanksgiving Part 1”

  1. Daisy November 28, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    these are so cute!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Sweet Advice on Celebrations & Competitions « Sweet Talk - November 18, 2012

    […] Thanksgiving is coming! This year we are going to my aunt & uncle’s house, so I don’t need to worry about […]

Leave a Reply

