Countdown til Turkey – 9 days!

15 Nov

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because it revolves around my three favorite things, food, family and shopping! We all know that a moist, warm piece of turkey is the star of the event, but if you’re anything like my family, dessert is not a frozen pie from the freezer. I have made it a tradition to spend as much time enjoying each other’s company with festive sweets as we do over the turkey and carb-overload at dinner.

As an ENORMOUS fan of the TV show, FRIENDS, I began making a dessert trifle for Thanksgiving the year after Rachel make her meat, potatoes, jam and lady fingers dessert for the group. If you don’t know which episode I’m referring to, you are really missing out, google it! Since that time I make a different trifle each year, some years Oreos are the star and others pound cake. There is always pudding, whipped cream and something chocolate roaming the beautiful trifle bowl my mom bought me. This year will be no different, and I have 9 more days to pick my flavors!

I took to the Twitterverse today to see what other turkey day sweets are ending my followers meals. Here are some of my faves!

babypayge@michellerose14 pumpkin pound cake with caramel glaze, pineapple upside down cake, sweet potato cobbler.

scuddlebuzz @michellerose14 we prefer any #Thanksgiving day dessert with honey! 😉

shelbyallen @michellerose14 My mouth is already watering for Apple Pie 🙂

What are you guys baking up? Or heating up? I’d love to hear your thoughts, my trifle always needs a fruity sidekick!

One Response to “Countdown til Turkey – 9 days!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trifle Time! « Sweet Talk - November 29, 2011

    […] mentioned previously that my trifle obsession began with my favorite TV show, FRIENDS and the famous trifle episode. […]

Leave a Reply

