this is what happens when I don’t follow the rules…

31 May

It started with an adorable sketch of a three layer, fun-filled and decorated birthday cake for my niece, Madeline.

It ended as a six layer, fun-filled and decorated birthday cake for my niece, Madeline.

The middle wasn’t pretty.

I broke one of the GOLDEN rules of baking a cake – I didn’t use parchment paper. No, I didn’t run out, no I didn’t even forget. I literally held the box in my hand and thought to myself, just the Pam will work fine on these pans. Nope, it didn’t. I baked an enormous (14-inch, I think) orange-dyed yellow cake as well as a chubby 6-inch version of the same and 75% of it went in the garbage. 15% went in my stomach and 10% made it into a very thin 14-inch cake layer that I ended up incorporating into the final product.

I baked my favorite, Paula Deen recipe, and the cake baked perfectly, seriously just my incorrect prepping that a failed me, and also led to this video.

After the giant whoops, I baked two separate boxes of brownies in an 8 and 9 inch circle pan and froze them along with the salvaged tiny layer. I almost called it a day on the cake and was going to serve the flat, mini thing. Then I remembered I’m trying to be the best aunt ever so I started over and re-baked those garbage cakes (plus one more 6-inch layer).

Suddenly I had the biggest cake ever for 20 people, but at least everyone got leftovers.

I used my favorite buttercream recipe for the outside and dyed the batches purple and teal, then I filled the layers will chocolate pudding and crushed Oreos per the birthday girl’s request. And then, because I really am trying to regain my “Best Aunt” status, I bought a set of Barrel of Monkey’s and stuck those little plastic green critters all around the Dora/Diego masterpiece. And I created a delicious, fun-filled and decorated birthday cake for my niece, Madeline.

Happy 4th Birthday!!!

One Response to “this is what happens when I don’t follow the rules…”

  1. Mom June 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Love that picture of Madeline and her cake!

Leave a Reply

