Mother’s Day Mash-Up

11 May

I’ve been wanting to experiment with this cupcake technique for years, and I finally did it last Sunday for Mother’s Day.

I’ve seen a handful of magazines displaying two-toned cupcakes and never had the energy to do it myself, but I definitely will again. Aside from the amazing taste, they were super cute!

I made the brownies out of a box, of course, but added a little flair with chopped up milk chocolate bars and white chocolate chips, then I made these red velvet cupcakes, but I made them light pink instead. They tasted nothing like a traditional red velvet cupcake, which was good for me because I’m not really a fan of the heaviness usually associated with them. These were strangely corn muffin-like, but very yummy and the pairing of the dense brownie and the fluffy cupcake was a fun one.

After I baked and cooled them, I sliced them in half or used a cookie cutter to swap the middles, then I whipped up some frosting, again from this recipe, but I added whipping cream, cocoa powder and melted chocolate chips, super amazing.

You can watch me in action here, and drool over these pictures. Happy Mother’s Day! I can’t wait to swap some cupcake tops again soon!

Leave a Reply

