happy red velvet birthday!

24 Feb

There’s always a red velvet cake in February – somewhere around the 22nd, my mom’s birthday.

Red velvet is her favorite, so I’m always ready to whip one up this time of year – plus I feel like red velvet is the perfect cure for late winter exhaustion. It’s bright and cheery, but resembles the weather with the snowy white frosting. (PS – Frosting video blog to come in the next week or so! πŸ™‚

Much like I’ve said in the past, I’m not so great at repeating recipes. I mean my oatberries are always a success, as well as my graham cracker cake, but when it comes to red velvet, I’m always reading about high rated recipes on twitter or in food emails and I came across this post. The only change I made here was I only used a little more than 1 ounce of food coloring (I actually like the look of a brighter cake anyways), but I think I may have waited a little too long to add the vinegar/baking soda to the rest of the ingredients because I didn’t feel like my cake was very fluffy.

I loved the discussion about the addition of more cocoa in a red velvet and actually my brother and my dad commented on the chocolate taste versus any other red velvet, which I thought was interesting. Personally I thought the cake was a little dry, but that may have been due to the ratio of frosting to cake (I used fat free cream cheese upon my mom’s request and I think it thinned my frosting), or potentially because I was getting sick and my taste buds weren’t up to par.

Either was it was a cute little birthday cake and everyone enjoyed it – my favorite part of a red velvet is the inside picture πŸ™‚

I also continued the red velvet theme with my present to my mom – I’ve been searching EVERYWHERE for this wine for her, almost for a year and I finally found it!

Happy Birthday Mom!

 

3 Responses to “happy red velvet birthday!”

  1. Kristin February 24, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    LOVE red velvet cake! This looks delicious. πŸ™‚ Where did you find cupcake wine?!

  2. michellerose14 February 24, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Thanks! And I FINALLY found the wine at Jewel in Palatine – I’ve been searching everywhere and literally jumped in excitement in the liquor department!

  3. Mom February 28, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Loved the cake, and the wine and the picture of me and Sonny!

Leave a Reply

