A Slightly Slimmer Sweet

26 Jan

I love making desserts for others to share and enjoy, in fact that is the whole reason why I bake – to make people happy! And that includes making desserts for my friends and family’s special occasions. Last week, my mom had a group of her friends over for their monthly lunch and so I, of course, provided the sweet ending, but with a slight twist or a lower calorie slice of decadence.

I found this recipe via Weight Watchers and knew my mom would love it – she is a big fan of red velvet cake, so this red velvet angel food dessert sounded perfect, and it really was. I actually liked it more than most of the red velvet cakes I’ve made and it had no butter in it! Not even a tablespoon!!

I will give a warning for this recipe though, it overfilled my bundt cake and toppled onto the cookie sheet I placed underneath (luckily I anticipated the mess). But it still worked, so if you don’t have the pan it called for, just like I didn’t, you can still use a regular bundt pan, but maybe save some extra batter and place it in a mini loaf pan or something to reduce the overflow.

Either way, it really was delicious, and actually had quite a lot of cocoa flavor, which i think is generally missing from red velvet. Plus, the cake wasn’t as airy as most angel food, it actually had some depth – yum – perfect complement to a dollop of cool whip or some vanilla ice cream!

 

One Response to “A Slightly Slimmer Sweet”

  1. Kristin February 2, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    yum! This looks delicious. I LOVE Red Velvet cake! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

