dessert turdunckin!

28 Nov

I hope everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving weekend full of food, friends and well, more food! I know I did. Every year for Thanksgiving I find it necessary to make a conglomerate of desserts – even though there’s only about six people eating them at my house – though I did send a lot of deliciousness with my siblings. I like to make desserts that double as centerpieces since the rest of the holiday season is filled with packable, deliverable desserts.

This Thanksgiving I tackled what I’m calling a dessert turdunckin – which is a pumpkin pie baked in a cake. It is the same idea as the cupcakes I made for my sister’s birthday, but taken to a higher level due to the suggestion of my brother. And it was fantastic – and actually pretty smart because I don’t love pumpkin pie so I could totally just have one piece. I plan on baking some other things inside other things soon – stay tuned! Here’s the step-by-step.

I used the same recipes as before, but made a slight change on the frosting. I couldn’t find any cinnamon chips so I subbed white chocolate chips and to my mom’s suggestion, cinnamon extract! The switch was perfect and my niece was mesmerized by the frosting concoction – I can’t wait for her to be my Christmas baking assistant!

There’s more from Turkey Day but I think this is enough to digest for now 🙂

2 Responses to “dessert turdunckin!”

  1. Lori @ RecipeGirl December 16, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    What a fun idea for a cake! Where on earth do you find cinnamon extract?

  2. michellerose14 December 16, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I actually found it at Walmart! It was a great buy!

Leave a Reply

