blackhawks fake-out cake

18 Jul

Like I promised last week, here is my dad’s birthday post.

I baked three layers of yellow cake last Sunday night and froze them until Thursday. Whenever someone requests yellow, they always get Paula Deen’s 1-2-3-4 cake. It’s super easy and I’ve never heard a complaint. I keep moving up in seniority at work, so I’ve got the last few weekends off and had time to bake Sunday night, however this makes mid-week baking impossible, hence the need to bake and freeze.

I hadn’t really decided how to decorate the cake. I was debating between a beer cake, a racetrack cake or a blackhawks cake. In fact, until Thursday I had no idea. I honestly decided to go with the blackhawks because I didn’t want to make green frosting for a racetrack base. I figured I could just do the chocolate frosting my dad requested for a hockey puck. I figured I’d run out of frosting if I filled the cake with it (I was wrong but oh well) so I made pudding, just from a box but subbing some half-and-half for milk, for the middles.

Then I went to work on the frosting, tinting it a little blacker and blacker. I started with my favorite vanilla buttercream and added melted chocolate and cocoa powder, but that was much too light for a puck, so i added the food coloring. Then it got a little gross, not super gross but it began to taste a little too much like black and not enough like frosting. Then I looked on the side of the bowl and there was my extra 3/4 cup of chocolate pudding. I thought to myself, what’s the worst that can happen if I just throw that in? And it fantastically made an iridescent silver color perfectly mimicking the Stanley Cup.

I’ll have to admit, after that I got a bit lazy. I couldn’t figure out exactly how I was going to decorate the top so I was googling blackhawks logos and found one I thought looked good. When I grabbed it off the printer I noticed my cocktail glass rimmer and had the idea to tape the hawks circle on the rimmer top and stick it in the cake. So I did and thus my fake-out cake was complete.

It looked pretty cool, but was amazingly easy. I felt a little like I under-did myself, but everyone liked it and it was delish, so no problem šŸ™‚

My dad also requested a chocolate version of last week’s lime freeze cake.Ā I toyed with that recipe and came up with a cocoa-chocolate chip version that went over really well with all of my aunts, uncles and cousins, it was PERFECT after an intensely hot day outside at the racetrack – and it photographed fabulously too!

Happy Birthday Dad! I know you’re reading this and I hope you tell someone in Canada that your real day is Wednesday so someone brings you some cake! šŸ™‚

One Response to “blackhawks fake-out cake”

  1. dad July 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    thanks sweetheart

Leave a Reply

