cabinet clean-out cookies

29 Apr

While my mom was out of town for a week I decided not to go grocery shopping. I am always telling her that we have a cabinet full of food that we never eat, which I think is true for most people. So this week when I pulled out my mixer, I decided to tackle some of those cabinet lurkers. There was a box of Cornflakes in my cabinet from Christmas. I know you may think that is quite a long time to keep cereal in a cabinet and that they might’ve been stale, but they were a great cookie component. I googled “cornflake cookies” and found this recipe. If you ever read my blog, you know that I’m always up for a baking experiment and that I hardly ever follow the recipe exactly. In fact, I rarely make the same dessert twice except my Oatberries and that’s just because I get requests or have to bribe someone!

So I had to alter this recipe because I only had 1/2 a stick of butter. Since the recipe called for twice that amount, I subbed I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter. I know you may think that is gross but because I mixed the two it turned out fine, better than fine actually! I loved the batter, it was super creamy combined with the cornflake crunch and it was amazing. I really liked this cookie because of the inside crunch. It’s nice to have some texture in a cookie and it was fun to do that with leftover cereal I’d been trying to get rid of. I think these cookies would have been a great milk-dunker, but they were gone too fast to see šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

