birthday in booth 10, bribery cookies & boxed brownies

21 Apr

Last week was my birthday – I feel so old! Ok, I know most of you reading this are my age or older, so it’s nothing against being older, 23 just seems like a weird age because it’s a whole 2 years older than 21, but 2 years closer to 25! Either way, I has already baked my own birthday “cake,” so I didn’t need another one, but I had one bought for me from my favorite co-workers! 🙂 They had me come into work on my birthday before I was going out to dinner and brought me to booth 10 where they sang to me and gave me presents, it was a very thoughtful surprise – and a very yummy cake with chocolate buttercream, my favorite.

The next night I went to work and twice my manager asked me where the blueberry cookies were, I told him I’ve only had 2 days off this month and so there wasn’t time for baking. On my way out he jokingly mentioned the cookies again, so I came up with a plan to bake them for him the next morning along with a bribe note to let two of my co-workers off of work Friday night to come to my birthday party. I had my mom drop off the oatberry cookies and apparently he was super embarrassed, I kinda wish I was there to see it! I guess the bribe half worked, one of my co-workers was let out early but ended up having a family thing so she couldn’t make it to the party 😦 but I guess either way he got the cookies he asked for!

Last but DEFINITELY not least, are my yummmmmmmmy boxed brownies. I know, bakers should probably make brownies from scratch but I just can’t beat a boxed brownie, so I never will. I made delicious triple chocolate brownies for my friends who came for my party and they were fantastic. Yum!

4 Responses to “birthday in booth 10, bribery cookies & boxed brownies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. cabinet clean-out cookies « Nilla Rose Desserts - April 29, 2010

    […] cabinet clean-out cookies By michellerose14 Leave a Comment Categories: Cookies and Uncategorized Tags: cornflake cookies While my mom was out of town for a week I decided not to go grocery shopping. I am always telling her that we have a cabinet full of food that we never eat, which I think is true for most people. So this week when I pulled out my mixer, I decided to tackle some of those cabinet lurkers. There was a box of Cornflakes in my cabinet from Christmas. I know you may think that is quite a long time to keep cereal in a cabinet and that they might’ve been stale, but they were a great cookie component. I googled “cornflake cookies” and found this recipe. If you ever read my blog, you know that I’m always up for a baking experiment and that I hardly ever follow the recipe exactly. In fact, I rarely make the same dessert twice except my Oatberries and that’s just because I get requests or have to bribe someone! […]

  2. cinna-mini marathon « Nilla Rose Desserts - August 24, 2010

    […] I whipped up my trusty Oatberries because Friday is also my manager’s birthday and he really likes them. This batch turned out a little different from my usual. I did have to sub for about 1/8 cup of […]

  3. Delicious Resourcefulness « Sweet Talk - February 21, 2012

    […] course I’m a huge fan of inventing cookies, covering stuff in chocolate and eating brownie batter from the bowl, but when I started dabbling […]

  4. Forgotten Sweets | Sweet Talk - February 27, 2013

    […] it a holiday without Oatberries? These were leftover from my unsuccessful attempt to be on the new CBS baking show. That was […]

Leave a Reply

