oatberries again

24 Mar

Last night I needed to bake, and not just because I’ve been slacking lately. I needed to bake because I’m entering a “Best Baker Search” contest. I read about it last week through a link from Twitter and I felt like it was a great opportunity for me and that I had to do it. I filled out the questionnaire right away and got a response asking for a video, which I put it off until the last minute, as always, but finally I finished it last night – and used my Oatberry recipe for the application. (I actaully ended up YouTube-ing the video.)

I picked this one for a few reasons, #1- this is MY recipe, so that’s a cool twist, #2 – it’s quick and easy, #3 – it does not involve chocolate (still lent), and #4 – everyone loves them and so the extras were fantastic for elizabeth, me, my mom & work (plus I froze a cookie muffin for my dad).

Even though it’s my recipe, I had to make a swap, this one is a keeper. I didn’t have a full cup of regular oats, so I added 2 packages of Cinnamon Roll instant oats. It was a goooooood decision. These cookies always get rave reviews but I literally had people telling me I am amazing at work today when I handed them out. In fact, my one manager said he wanted to eat the whole container and my other manager told me, “you are like the female Wright Brothers of cookies.” I love when people love food I make 🙂 Happy Wednesday! More baking this Saturday, I promise!

3 Responses to “oatberries again”

  1. Amy Schneider March 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Michelle! I always hear you talking about these cookies but have never gotten to try them! But your video was so informative, I feel I know how to make them myself now 🙂 Good luck with the contest!

    • michellerose14 March 24, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

      I can’t believe you’ve never had them! Now I feel like I need to send you some lol

  2. justinelorelle March 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Cute picture! Also, send me cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

