Nicole’s gluten-free coconut rochers

15 Mar

It looks as if Saturday mornings have turned into my bake days. I think my manager has it written down somewhere that I am not available to work on Saturday mornings, which isn’t true, but I”m not complaining. It is nice to have a consistent shift off. So pretty much Saturday mornings I bake and then bring treats to work at night. Every time I do this I forget that I previously promised my friend Nicole, who is gluten intolerant, that I will bring something special for her and then I feel terrible – but I finally remembered this week!

These coconut rochers weren’t specifically fantastic, but they weren’t difficult, costly or time consuming either. Three ingredients, that’s it. Sugar, 1 egg and shredded coconut. I made a very similar “cookie” (i guess that’s what they would be labeled as) when I went to pastry camp two summers ago, and remembered that even though I’m not a huge coconut fan, I enjoyed them. Surprisingly, they don’t have a strong coconut flavor at all, they’re kinda like little cereal bites. I think next time I make them I will use my pastry camp recipe and also use a different pan. I baked them on a baking sheet topped with parchment this time and the bottoms didn’t crisp so well. Oh well, Nicole liked them, so it was a success 🙂

Leave a Reply

