finding an excellent chocolate replacement!

9 Mar

It’s about halfway through lent and I have been craving something super chocolate-y, lucky me, last week Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips were on sale at Target. Interesting note on these chips, they are super cinnamon-y when you taste test them out of the bag, but once they’re mixed into something sweet, they’re great.

I searched around for a good-looking recipe to use them in, and I found the perfect one – Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies – but, as I often do, I switched it up adding some other spices and also made cookie cubes instead of cookies. This was mostly due to the fact that I wanted to bring them to work Saturday night and I didn’t have a whole lot of time, so it was easier to plop the dough in a 9X13 instead of portioning out cookies, but either way they were fabulous, literally amazing. And the raw dough, which only I got to enjoy, could replace chocolate chip cookie dough any day. I’ve found my lenten recipe! Next time I think I will just try chocolate chip cookies replacing the choco-s with the cinnamon-ies… or maybe once my chocolate-free lent is over, I can combine both!

5 Responses to “finding an excellent chocolate replacement!”

  1. The Dad March 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    now these were really awesome !

  2. michellerose14 March 10, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I threw the last one in the freezer for you!

  3. Grandma March 15, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Michelle,
    I gave up chocolate too ! These sound like they are very good. If I can find the cinnamon chip I will make them, we do not have a Target in Hot Springs.

    • michellerose14 March 15, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      You should look at your Super Wal-Mart – I bet they have them there! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 1 down, 11 to go « i know you didn't ask… - August 23, 2010

    […] yikes, the dessert queen without dessert? You may not know but for two years straight I’ve given up chocolate for lent, and it’s been difficult but I handled it successfully. So this time I need a mini dessert […]

Leave a Reply

