Mom’s Red Velvet Birthday

21 Feb

This weekend I felt like I was rewarded for something – I managed to finally get Saturday night off to spend with my family celebrating my mom’s birthday, and also happened to get Sunday & Monday off, too!

My mom always wants the same cake for her birthday – red velvet, which is fine because it’s pretty and it’s still February. This year I decided to use a recipe from the Food Network, from Sonny Anderson. It got good reviews, though I didn’t get to taste is because of the cocoa powder and no chocolate until Easter for me! I did get to eat all of the extra frosting though – my favorite, favorite vanilla buttercream. I always play around with the vanilla content to get a great taste, but I just really like the ratio of butter to sugar.

My mom wanted cupcakes, but I wanted to make a cake since it’d been so long, so I made both. The recipe calls for a jelly roll pan, but instead I went with 2-6inch circles and 12 standard cupcakes.

It ended up being perfect for the party since we only had 4 cake eaters. We sliced the cake and sent the cupcakes home as leftovers, with a few remaining for my parents the next few days, and since my mom’s birthday isn’t actually until Monday, she’ll have some leftover for then. Happy Birthday, Mom! πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Mom’s Red Velvet Birthday”

  1. Kristin February 25, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    this looks DELICIOUS, Michelle! The icing looks especially incredible. I eat store bought icing straight from the jar, and feel like I could do even more damage with this icing. πŸ™‚

    • michellerose14 February 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      lol thanks πŸ™‚ You can feel better about eating homemade icing… it’s technically healthier πŸ™‚

      • LauraM March 8, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

        Umm I guess… all in moderation, right.

  2. The Dad March 9, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    the cupcakes frozen were my favorite

  3. Mari March 26, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Hi Michelle,

    I got your link through Cake Journal and ended up following you through here. I love the red velvet recipe my self, it is so delicious!

    This past February I posted my 2 versions of red velvet in my blog. You are invited to visit I even put red sugar crystal onj my cupcakes like you in your cake! Your mom must be very happy.

    http://mariscakes.blogspot.com/2010/01/red-velvet-y-cream-cheese-frosting.html

    God bless.

    • michellerose14 March 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

      Mari – those are beautiful cupcakes! And it’s a good thing I took 6 years of Spanish in jr high/high school so I could read your blog πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

      Michelle

Leave a Reply

