happy valentine’s day! (a.k.a. sugar saturday)

13 Feb

I wasn’t sure if or when I was going to be able to bake something for Valentine’s Day, which made me so upset since it is such a dessert-y holiday, but my problem was solved this morning when Sonny (my dog) woke me up at 8:15am. So on less than 5 hours of sleep and no chance of spending anymore time in bed, I got up and went to the kitchen. Since no one else was home I blasted the radio and started looking for recipes, only to discover that we have no butter or brown sugar in the house. Or chocolate. So that made things SUPER difficult and made this quite the adventure. Since I had no butter, I ventured to the Crisco website because I figured I’d have better luck there than anywhere else and I settled on Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies, but I made them pink for Valentine’s Day! Then I realized I only had 1/4 cup of sour cream, so I used yogurt. And the frosting is half Crisco, half I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter… but you know what? It turned out great and these cookies are delicious.

On to one more recipe. Why? I have no idea, I just wanted to make something else… probably because I was hungry for more cookie dough. Actually I needed a recipe that called for brown sugar because I made my own with granulated sugar and molasses since we are out, so I wanted to use it. Again I played substitution games on this recipe. I wanted to make something chocolate but didn’t have any chips, so I found a cocoa-oatmeal cookie recipe, substituted the butter (Crisco and Can’t Believe again), used my homemade brown sugar and swapped the chocolate chips for white chocolate. I decided to make a GIANT square cookie to test out my new pan and so that I could cookie cut my dessert.

You will honestly not believe how delicious these little hearts are. So good, almost like a perfect brownie because they are moist enough to be super-yummy, but dense enough to let the cookie cutter do its job. These were so good that I had to forego my plan to wear whitestrips while I cut them and eat some scraps along the way, but I did save an entire container of ends and middles for my dad. I love how the white chocolate chips show through and the oatmeal adds a great quality, plus it amazes me that i used weird substitutes and arrived at a great ending.

One problem with so many substitutions is that it leads to many, many taste tests, so let me say I am stuffed with cookies right now, probably on the verge of a sugar coma, and have to be a perky waitress at 4:30pm til about midnight or later… eek! Wish me luck and have a sugar-coated happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

