retreat treats

8 Feb

Good morning! It has been a super busy week for me, working over 50 hours this week made me exhausted, but I did have enough time to dessert cater my mom’s quilt retreat this past weekend. I think I mentioned in another post that she runs quilt retreats and this winter retreat was in my hometown, Schaumburg, so my dad and I delivered the treats Saturday afternoon. I had my mom choose six recipes and I baked them all during my (minimal) time off last week. Let me say that they were all great recipes! I couldn’t believe how yummy some of them were. I, of course, had to taste them all to make sure they were yummy enough to serve 🙂

I started off with the brownies I posted about on the 28th , in addition to those dark chocolate chunkies, I made apple pie bars, lemon-lime bars, s’mores granola bars, weight watchers caramel cookies and samoa bars. I spent one of my days off researching recipes and fell in love with this site — Recipe Girl — The simplicity of the site, the great organization and the lovely pictures made me print out the recipes and have my mom pick from her list. What a good choice I made because they all turned out great.

The apple pie bars were oh-my-god amazing. I had to half this recipe because I didn’t have enough apples, but it was more than enough. In fact, I think I might’ve used too many apples or something because my bars were way thicker than they were supposed to be, but I WILL make this recipe again – maybe next thanksgiving!

The lemon lime bars were quick and easy. I’m not the biggest lemon bar fan, but these were still pretty delish. I was amazed with the great crusts on all of these bars. Usually I have problems with shortbread crusts because they are too fragile, but these guys all stood up to the toppings!

The S’mores granola bars are a tasty twist on rice krispie treats, and probably a bit healthier for you since they are packed with oats, too! I twisted this recipe a bit myself by using coco krispies instead of plain rice krispies. I only did this because they were on super sale at Target, but I think they added to the yumminess, making each bite a little more chocolatey. I also decided to add more than the recommended marshmallows and chocolate chips, because why not? 🙂

The weight watchers cookies were obviously not as exciting. You all know my mom likes the low-pointers to be available, these were a little boring but easy and cute. I bet they’d make good mini ice cream sandwiches! (I also had to half this one because I ran out of brown sugar… planning was a little off this time, whoops!)

Finally, the Samoa bars. In case you aren’t familiar with what a Samoa cookie is, you may recognize them as Caramel De-Lites, both the same Girl Scout Cookies, but named differently depending on where ya live. Well my mom was super excited about these and said everyone loved them as well. The crust was fantastic and the filling was really really easy. I decided to top them with chocolate chips and them dip the bottoms in chocolate like the recipe called for. So cute.

Well that’s the retreat wrap-up. You’d think I’d be all baked-out from it, but actually I mixed up some fun brownies for one of my best friend’s birthday last night (pics tomorrow), and I feel like I should bring Valentine’s treats to work this weekend? Hmm, we’ll see! Enjoy the delicious pictures!

4 Responses to “retreat treats”

  1. Lori @ RecipeGirl February 8, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    What a lovely comment… you’ve made my day!!! Inspiration to make my site even better, for sure. THank you!! XOXO

    • michellerose14 February 8, 2010 at 10:44 am #

      You’re welcome! : ) I LOVED the recipes!

  2. LauraM February 8, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Well I have to say the Samoa cookies were my favorite at the retreat! So many flavors in one cookie. Of course I also love lemon bars. And, although simple, the weight watchers cookies were very tasty. Sometimes you just want a little bit of sweet without a lot of fuss. These fit the bill. Do you know how many points were in each cookie?

    Thanks Michelle!

    • michellerose14 February 8, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      Yep! The caramel cookies were just 1 point each!

Leave a Reply

