sunday night impromptu deliciousness!

31 Jan

So have you ever been baking something and suddenly REALLY wanted it to be something else? Well for many of you this probably never happens, because I know the larger percentage of my readers are my family members who don’t bake… but for my bakers out there, maybe you know what I mean! You might be making a friend’s birthday cake or a special occasion dessert and suddenly you really really really want chocolate chip cookie dough? That’s exactly what happened to me. I was working on the dessert bars for the quilt retreat next weekend (making Samoa bars… post coming soon!) and I just needed cookie dough. So I pulled out the trusty bag of milk chocolate chips and 1/4th the cookie recipe. Mostly because I was afraid I might eat it all.

Let me tell ya, making 1/4 of the recipe was super quick, and I just decided to divide the batter into two heart shaped molds and pop them in the oven for a warm cookie ice cream dessert for me & my dad. (and my mom had a bite or two too). So basically I’m super full now, but it was majorly worth it. That is what they call a well-spent day off 🙂

7 Responses to “sunday night impromptu deliciousness!”

  1. justinelorelle February 1, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Oh my gosh, that looks AMAZING, Michelle! Definitely one of your prettiest 🙂

  2. michellerose14 February 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    thanks!!! 🙂 I think so too!

  3. Maria February 3, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    My kind of dessert!

  4. LauraM February 7, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Wow! What a sweet idea. Did you have any difficulty getting the cookie dough to bake all the way through? Did you need to change the baking temp at all? Did cookie stick to the mold? It doesn’t look like it in the after shot but just checking.

    • michellerose14 February 8, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Laura, Nope, no difficulties with the baking. Usually I just bake the cookies twice as long when its thick like a brownie or cake. Deep dish cookies were actually one of my first baking favorites because it is super easy to just pour the dough in the pan and bake. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  5. LauraM March 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    So on a related chocolate chip cookie note, I saw on QVC (I hate to admit it but I watch QVC), one of the QVC “guests” made a comment that there was nothing like baking chocolate chip cookies in a cast iron skillet. These were just normal sized chocolate chip cookies. Have you ever tried this? Since you like to experiment, and obviously love chocolate (except in lent), perhaps you’d like to try this someday and let us know if there is any difference.

    Laura

    • michellerose14 March 8, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

      Sounds fun – I’ll have to remember that idea!

Leave a Reply

