a dark day in the very best way :)

28 Jan

Kinda crazy, kinda silly day – but I’ll elaborate on that if anything comes of it! 🙂 But baking wise, I needed a tiny bake break in the middle of my day to keep me going. Plus, I’m not gonna lie, I wanted to lick the spoon…. and eat the extra m&ms.

This was another quick & easy baking stint. In fact, couldn’t have been easier. As I said the other day, I’m doing quite a bit of baking for my mom, and this is just one more. Her annual winter quilting retreat is next weekend and she’s “hired” me to do a dessert-bar bar.  Since my life is hard to plan lately, I figured I’d pound out the easiest of the treats this afternoon. So easy that it involved the following:

Yep. That’s pretty much it. One box of Dark Chocolate Betty Crocker family-sized brownies and one bag of Dark Chocolate Valentine’s Day M&M’s. Ok… I also used 2 eggs, 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, a little Pam in a can and parchment paper, but that’s it.

Now, I am a true baker, BUT, I always make brownies from a box. This is not something I hide from anyone. I honestly love them and think that homemade brownies can be a little dry. Betty’s red box are my faves, but I like the blue Pillsbury ones too, even the store brands are good. There is just something about boxed brownies that is delicious and SOOOO easy!  Also, I’m pretty sure boxed brownies are the first dessert I was actually “good” at making. It is a little known fact that my initial attempts in the kitchen were failures. I couldn’t shape a cookie for my life and half of my cakes constantly stayed in the pan when I tried to flip them. I was also extremely impatient and while frosting, I would tear the tops off… granted that was with canned frosting, which I refuse to use. But that was all a long, long time ago… eww almost 10 years ago! Now I’m a pro, or at least I know what I can and cannot do, but either way I’m sticking with my boxed brownies. They’re a constant success, and their ease makes it super fun for me to pump them with something extra – today’s extra’s being the M&M’s. And like I said, I needed the batter and the rest of that giant bag in my tummy to finish my day 🙂

One Response to “a dark day in the very best way :)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. retreat treats « Nilla Rose Desserts - February 8, 2010

    […] to taste them all to make sure they were yummy enough to serve I started off with the brownies I posted about on the 28th , in addition to those dark chocolate chunkies, I made apple pie bars, lemon-lime bars, […]

Leave a Reply

