happy new year!

6 Jan

We all want to start the new year happy and healthy, right? This cheesecake took care of both of those goals!

I tend to make cheesecake for new years because I don’t like it. I am always on total sweets-overload after Christmas and want to make something for my family to enjoy and not be too tempted myself. Problem this year: the cheesecake was too delicious! And I tried to make it completely unappealing for me, but super appealing to my dad & sister – the lemon lovers. Turned out to be healthy and yummy so everyone was pleased.

I based this recipe on a Kraft foods lemon cheesecake recipe, but made some changes due to ingredients on hand.

First step – crust change. My dad LOVES Jingles, a gingerbread-y holiday cookie. Although this is a little bit of an insult to such a homemade baker… I decided to use half the box he had in the cabinet to make a ginger-y crust. It was amazing, and I don’t even like Jingles.

Next I changed the cream cheese to fat-free because that’s what we happen to have in the fridge, I added quite a bit of lemon zest and fresh lemon juice, baked the cake, refrigerated for a few hours and topped with powdered sugar, whipped cream and more lemon zest. Between the six of us eating, we devoured it. Even Madeline wanted more!

One more thing that made this dessert delicious – pairing it with raspberry sherbet.

A fruity, healthy and fun way to start the new year – mmm!

2 Responses to “happy new year!”

  1. justinelorelle January 7, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Um….yum. Like whoa.

  2. michellerose14 January 7, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    you would LOVE this!

Leave a Reply

